Dean Sparrow


Chief Executive Officer

Qualified as Chartered Accountant (SA) with Deloitte & Touche in 1999. Joined UCS in April 2002. Appointed CFO of UCS in August 2002. Instrumental in various corporate actions and restructurings (including international acquisitions). Appointed Deputy Group CEO in April 2009. Played lead role in the disposal of the greater part of UCS' assets to BCX, comprising UCS' Retail IT Services businesses. Appointed CEI Group CEO with effect 1 October 2011.

Mark Hyslop

BA, LLB, Higher Diploma Company Law (cum laude)

Chief Legal Officer

BA, LLB, Higher Diploma Company Law (cum laude). Attorney of the High Court of South Africa. Articled at Cliffe Dekker& Todd (now DLA Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr). 1988 – 2002: Legal advisor at Corporate Merchant Bank Limited and then Datakor Limited / Unisys Corporation. 2002 – 2008: Director and Head IT Law division, Edward Nathan Sonnenbergs. Joined UCS in 2008. General Practice Area: General Commercial and Corporate law. Specialist Practice Area: IT Law and associated Intellectual Property law.

Anton Gaylard

BBusSci (Honors)

Executive: Mobile.Social.Payments.VAS

Bachelor of Business Sciences (Honours). Held various senior management positions at Retail Automation developing and deploying EPOS solutions to the SA retail market over a period of 7 years. Having started in sales he worked his way up to Managing Director. He then joined MWeb Business where he started and managed the Application Services Division and was a pioneer in the development of eCommerce solutions including SafeShop, an eCommerce gateway, and chaired the South African Forum of eTailers. Anton then moved on from MWeb to the Platinum Group as their COO responsible for 56 fashion retail outlets.

Joined UCS in 2008 as Group Executive responsible for the Value Added Services Assets. The businesses within this area of the portfolio include Innervation, wiGroup, Emerge Mobile, Indaba Mobile and V&A Risk Management.

John Bright

BComm (Computer Science)

Non-Executive Director

Together with Duncan Coles, John is a principal founder of Capital Eye Investments Limited (formerly UCS Group Limited). His original background was as a software developer and systems analyst.

He worked in the computer bureau division of NCR from 1968 to 1978 when he left to start Universal Computer Services (Proprietary) Limited which formed the underpin to the UCS Group upon its listing on the JSE in 1998. John moved into a non-executive role at the end of 2011 after leading the UCS Group as Chief Executive Officer since listing. John is a non-executive director of Capital Eye Investments Limited and a member of the Investment Committee.

Neil Michelson


Non-Executive Director

Neil completed his Bachelor of Accountancy degree in 1983, and wrote and passed the Board exam in 1984. He started and built numerous small owner-managed enterprises and consulted from 1985 to 1988. He was invited to join Spartan Computers in 1988 as a shareholder and as the Financial Director. During the period 1988 to 1997 he was instrumental in building the Spartan Computer Rental Business in South Africa. Appointed Managing Director in 1992, the business grew rapidly in South Africa following which Neil was instrumental in the sale of the company in 1997.

Neil joined the UCS Group Board in 1998 as Financial Director. After numerous acquisitions, the UCS Group identified the need for separating the role of Group FD and Group COO and Neil was appointed as Group Chief Operating Officer in 2002. Neil has performed most executive roles within the UCS Group. Most notably he fulfilled the role of Chief Executive Officer of UCS Software (Proprietary) Limited. Neil continues to provide commercial and strategic support, identifying and structuring M&A opportunities, serving as a non-executive director of Capital Eye Investments Limited and a member of the Investment Committee.

Duncan Coles

BComm (Computer Science)

Non-Executive Chairman

Together with John Bright, Duncan is a principal founder of Capital Eye Investments Limited (formerly UCS Group Limited). He started his career in computing in 1967 and entered the computer bureau field in 1970 at Management Computer Services (Proprietary) Limited where he was employed as a software developer/ systems analyst and later promoted to the position of General Manager.

In 1975, following the merger of the MCS and NCR computer bureaus he became an assistant to John Bright where his responsibilities were concentrated mainly on software development and software developer's management. Post the establishment of UCS and the subsequent buy-out of the computer bureau from NCR in 1978 and before retirement in 2010, Duncan was a key executive of Argility (Proprietary) Limited responsible for the Software Services Ceres division. Duncan has served as a Director on the board since the listing of the UCS Group in 1998. Duncan currently serves as the Capital Eye Investments Limited non-executive Chairman.

Peter Terblanche

BComm (Computer Science)

Independent Non-Executive Director

Has over 40 year's experience in the IT industry and was one of the pioneers of the software value added services market. He has been a non-executive director of Capital Eye Investments Limited (then UCS Group Limited) since 2000 and is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Mntungwa Morojele


Independent Non-Executive Director

Mntungwa was appointed to the board as an independent non-executive director on 31 August 2005 and is the Chairman of Capital Eye Investments Limited's Audit Committee and member of the Remuneration Committee. He holds a Master of Science degree from Georgetown University, Washington DC, USA, is a chartered accountant and has a Master of Business Administration from University of Cape Town's Graduate School of Business. He is a member of the Institute of Directors of South Africa, and served as a Council member of that Institute for four years (2004 – 2008). He has been a member of the board of the Spur Corporation since May 2010, and sits on its Audit and Remuneration Committees.